Archive: Issue No. 112, December 2006

Go to the current edition for SA art News, Reviews & Listings.
EDITIONS FOR ARTTHROB EDITIONS FOR ARTTHROB    |    5 Years of Artthrob    |    About    |    Contact    |    Archive    |    Subscribe    |    SEARCH   

ACT Awards Ceremony

Artist Esther Mahlangu won this year's Lifetime Achievement Award at the Arts and Culture Trust (ACT) awards evening in Johannesburg last month. Marilyn Martin, director of art collections at the Iziko South African National Gallery, said in her speech that Mahlangu had attained icon status in an extraordinary journey from rural beginnings to national and international fame: 'Through it all, she has remained true to her roots and to herself - a woman of enormous integrity, dignity and commitment to her work.'

The annual ACT awards pay tribute to individuals and organisations that make 'an invaluable contribution to the development of the arts, culture and heritage fields'. The panel of judges included Kate Axe Davies, Sbonakaliso Ndaba, Mary Watson, Chris Watterson and Jane Zimmerman.

The other winners were:
ACT Administrator Award: Ismail Mahomed. Outgoing AVA gallery director Estelle Jacobs and Standard Bank head of sponsorship Mandie van der Spuy were runners-up;
ACT Publicist Award: Lusanda Zokufa (Market Theatre). The Heritage Agency and Vanessa Perumal (JT Communications Solutions) were runners-up;
ACT Journalist Award (freelance): Diane Coetzer.Mary Corrigall and Melvyn Minnaar were runners-up;
ACT Media Award: Art South Africa. SUPA Stage and wrapped magazine were runners-up;
ACT Arts Education Award: The South African Schools Festivals. Ballet Theatre Afrikan and Ibhabhathane Project at Frank Joubert were runners-up;
ACT Cultural Development Project: Market Photo Workshop. The Field Band Foundation and Phumani Paper were runners-up;
The Most Successful ACT-funded project: Bird's Eye View. Ballet Theatre Afrikan and Phumani Paper were runners-up;