Archive: Issue No. 130, June 2008

Go to the current edition for SA art News, Reviews & Listings.
EDITIONS FOR ARTTHROB EDITIONS FOR ARTTHROB    |    5 Years of Artthrob    |    About    |    Contact    |    Archive    |    Subscribe    |    SEARCH   

Sasol Wax Art Awards

Sasol Wax Art Award 2008 judges: Marco Cianfanelli (artist and advisor to Sasol), Melissa Mboweni (independent art consultant), Gordon Fround (academic, artist, curator) and Daniel Mosako (curator, Anton van Wouw Museum, University of Pretoria)

Sasol Wax Art Awards

Finalists of the Sasol Wax Art Award 2008: Stephen Hobbs, Tracey Rose, Avhashoni Mainganye, Hentie Van Der Merwe (Absent: Brett Murray)

Finalists announced for Sasol Wax Art Awards 2008

Finalists for the Sasol Wax Art Award 2008 have been announced. Now in its third year, this award has become synonymous with innovative art from highly deserving senior professionals. This year's Sasol Wax Art Award finalists, and exhibitors on the exhibition to be held in October this year are Stephen Hobbs, Avhashone Mainganye, Hentie van der Merwe, Brett Murray and Tracey Rose.The finalists were selected from a group of ten semi-finalists who included Kevin Brand, Wilma Cruise, Paul Edmunds and Terry Kurgan.

The Sasol Wax Art Award is targeted at mid-career and professionally mature artists with substantial exhibition profiles. With total prize monies of R230 000, this award represents the top accolades for professional (mid-career) artists in South Africa. The selected semi- finalists were chosen from over 100 entries from senior artists all over South Africa. The ten were expected to submit proposals submitted for a body of work using wax (one of Sasol's major products worldwide), either in process, medium or concept. From these proposals, the five finalists were selected and will each receive R20 000 to produce a body of work for the Sasol Wax Art Award exhibition, to be held at the University of Johannesburg Art Gallery on October this year. One winner will be awarded R 130 000, joining the ranks of Jeremy Wafer and Walter Oltmann who won the Award in 2006 and 2007 respectively.

The proposals received explore applications of the product in highly innovative ways. According to the Award Curator and Artistic Director, Les Cohn, 'The exhibition in October will reflect five very distinctive and challenging, well developed voices of the South African art landscape. A strong theme running through the submissions was the question of "Power" - from corporate structures to issues of governance, this exhibition will engage with some very real concerns that South Africans are facing.'

The Sasol wax art award exhibition will run from October 14 - November 7, 2008 at the University of Johannesburg Art Gallery, Kingsway Campus.